FavoriteLoadingAdd to favourites

Seeking a male befriender to help our client get out and about

Befriending / Visiting volunteer needed for Dimensions

Do you like to get out and about, doing different activities?

A lady we support is looking for a male volunteer buddy to accompany her in a range of social activities.

Volunteering activities will include:

  • Engage the individual to find new activities in the local area – anything which enables her to get out and make new friends,
  • Going to the cinema
  • Popping out for a coffee or even to the pub!
  • Going for a walk and exploring the local area

If interested to volunteer, please get in touch!

Organisation
Contact person firstname
Sarah Callaghan, Volunteering Officer (South)
Lastname
Contact person's position
Their phone number?
0300 303 9162

Location description
Newbury Area
Wheelchair accessible?
Not specified
Car parking for the volunteer?
Yes
Secure bicycle parking?
Not specified
Near public transport?
Yes
How much time?
A few hours a month
What times and days of the week?
Mon AMMon PMTue AMTue PMWed AMWed PMThu AMThu PMFri AMFri PM
Availability required
Any of these times
Additional timing details
A regular commitment would be appreciated, e.g. once a fortnight for a few hours to begin with.
Task type?
Befriending / Visiting
Will suit someone like this:
Enjoys variety and changeGood sense of humourSociablePatientSupportiveCommunicatorWants to get out and about
Post suitable for supported volunteering?
Not specified
Is training given?
Yes
Training description
Access to our Learning Connect, our online training system.
Is support given?
Yes
Description of support
Ongoing support and informal conversations.
Are expenses paid?
Yes
Description of expenses
Reasonable expenses may be agreed.
Will I need my own transportation?
Yes
Will the volunteer be CRB or DBS checked?
Yes
Are references required?
Yes
Will there be an interview?
Yes
Are they properly insured?
Yes
Minimum age
18
Do they need a specific gender?
Male
How many volunteers needed?
1
Opportunity added on
20 June 2019

Read more about Dimensions