FavoriteLoadingAdd to favourites

Become a visiting volunteer and help us in reducing social isolation of people with a learning disability

Befriending / Visiting volunteer needed for Royal Mencap Society (Mencap)

In this role you’ll be visiting two older women with learning disabilities in Reading.

Anna and Lizzy are both 70 and we’d like the same visitor to visit both of them, alternating who you see each month.

Anna is in Caversham and would enjoy being taken to the local park in her wheelchair or out for coffee and cake.

Lizzy is in Woodley and likes to go for lunch, and also uses a wheelchair when out.

Both women live in shared houses with several housemates who also have a learning disability. They will get a benefit from spending time with a friendly volunteer who can give them some special attention and do activities with them. That’s where you come in – by visiting you will make a huge difference.

You will be introduced and get to know them with the support of Mencap staff.

You will be volunteering monthly. Visits can take place on weekdays or weekends, during the day.

As a Mencap Visiting Volunteer you will be :

Reducing social isolation of people with a learning disability
Increasing the independence and confidence of individuals with a learning disability
Enabling people with a learning disability to fully access their local communities
Volunteers must be aged 18 or over

Please note we are looking for a female visitor and you will need to be comfortable to push someone in a wheelchair (we can support you to learn how to do this).

Benefits:

Training & induction to the volunteer role
Agreed out-of-pocket expenses (e.g. travel)
Meet new people
We’ll value your contribution
Ongoing support from our Volunteer Services Coordinator

Contact person firstname
Alison Sammons,
Lastname
Their phone number?
01543 545002

Location description
Reading
Wheelchair accessible?
Yes
Car parking for the volunteer?
Yes
Secure bicycle parking?
No
Near public transport?
Yes
How much time?
A few hours a month
What times and days of the week?
Mon AMMon PMTue AMTue PMWed AMWed PMThu AMThu PMFri AMFri PMSat AMSat PMSun AMSun PM
Availability required
Any of these times
Task type?
Befriending / Visiting
Will suit someone like this:
Enjoys variety and changeGood sense of humourSociableSupportiveCommunicator
Post suitable for supported volunteering?
Yes
Is training given?
Yes
Training description
Induction
Is support given?
Yes
Description of support
Support from a volunteer manager
Are expenses paid?
Yes
Description of expenses
Travel
Will I need my own transportation?
No
Will the volunteer be CRB or DBS checked?
No
Are references required?
Yes
Will there be an interview?
Yes
Are they properly insured?
Yes
Minimum age
18
Do they need a specific gender?
Female
How many volunteers needed?
1
Opportunity added on
4 April 2019